Category Archives: composition

Venessa Porter Winner of the Green Dot Journey Composer Competition


Venessa Porter announced as the winner of the Green Dot Journey Composer Competition‘s Northwestern US region ,Seven composers were announced on July 1, 2014 as the winners of the Green Dot Journey Composer Project Competition (see winners below). Their pieces, written for violin and piano, depict different regions of the United States and Canada and will be performed at house concerts and art gallery concerts on the Green Dot Journey starting September 1, 2014.

World Premieres of Works for Bassoon


BGSU’s faculty Susan Nelson, Nermis Mieses, Solungga Fang-Tzu Liu, Stephen Miahky, and Matthew Daline will perform the world premiere of several chamber music pieces that won the 2012 []Bassoon Chamber Music Composition Competition (BCMCC).  Susan Nelson, Assistant Professor of Bassoon, is the director of the BCMCC, an organization that fosters and promotes the bassoon as a chamber instrument by holding a competition every other year for new compositions featuring the bassoon in a chamber setting.  In this way the BCMCC increases repertoire available for bassoonists and helps with public awareness on the versatility of the instrument. 

The world premiere concert of the 2012 winning works will take place on January 19th at 7:30pm in Round Top, Texas as part of the evening concerts of the []Meg Quigley Vivaldi Competition & Bassoon Symposium.

BGSU Festival Series concert celebrates the season

BOWLING GREEN, O.—The holiday Festival Series performance at Bowling Green State University on Dec. 6 will live up to its name, presenting a festival of music, poetry, dance, theater and more.

The 7 p.m. concert in Kobacker Hall will feature soprano Kisma Jordan, a BGSU alumna, as soloist with the BG Philharmonia in Bach/Gounod’s “Ave Maria,” plus 200 students, faculty and community members along with some of BGSU’s top ensembles, including the University Choral Society, BGSU Wind Symphony Brass and BGSU’s Heart and Music musical theater students.

Filled with classics like “You’re a Mean One, Mr. Grinch,” traditional carols and some special holiday medleys, “the concert has evolved into a holiday performance of epic proportions,” said Susan Hoekstra, director of public events for the College of Musical Arts. Hoekstra hinted there would be some surprise soloists in the Haydn “Toy Symphony,” where toys take center stage.

The award-winning Prestige Barbershop Quartet will bring their harmonies to “What Child Is This?” and the bouncy rhythms of “Sleigh Ride” will liven the pace.

Tickets can be purchased at or by calling the box office at 419-372-8171.

The concert is part of a whole evening of entertainment with BGSU’s family-friendly ArtsX events across campus.

BGSUElectroacoustics Makes Strong Showing at 2013 ElectroAcoustic Barn Dance Festival

Ten BGSU current and alumni composers (and performers) will present pieces at the 2013 ElectroAcoustic Barn Dance Festival at the University of Mary Washington in Fredericksburg, VA , November 7-9 2013. (Pieces listed in program order.)
Josh Simmons (current master’s) – confessions smell of faint fairfood in the background as new highs and new lows were set on the proportions taken in from the late sunset in autumn timechange drifting through the trees on that smell of cooling dirt [live electronic performance by Simmons]
Elise Roy (current DMA) – dilation (Flutescape II) [fixed media]
Ben Taylor (MM11) – Stop.Rewind.Play [trumpet, fixed media, and video]
Carter John Rice (MM13) – Soundscape for Viola and Electronics [viola and live electronics] – performed by Kalindi Bellach (current DMA)
CR Kasprzyk (current DMA) – adapt[ation] [saxophone and fixed media] – performed by Kasprzyk
Anne Niekirk (MM09) – Office Space [fixed media]
Evan Williams (MM13) – Origins [fixed media]
Hong-Da Chin (current DMA) – Wind in Abyss [fixed media]
Paul Thomas (MM05) – Slapbox [accordian and live electronics] – performed by Thomas
and one paper presentation:
Carter John Rice (MM13) – Sentential Structure in the Music of Elainie Lillios