4th Annual Recreation & Wellness Golf Outing Results

Friday, September 25, BGSU students, faculty, staff, and members of the Bowling Green community gathered at Forest Creason Golf Course for the 4th Annual Recreation and Wellness Golf Outing. The annual scramble supports the Recreation and Wellness Foundation.

Jim Hanson and his daughter, Deb Hanson, made their fourth appearance in the Recreation and Wellness Golf Outing.

“It’s a great event, and it’s getting bigger every year,” said Jim Hanson. “Each year interest has built, and there are a lot of young people.”

Scott Sehmann has also played in all four outings.

“It’s a fun afternoon with good food,” noted Sehmann. “I’m looking forward to hopefully winning the putting contest.”

Prior to the outing’s 12:30 p.m. shotgun start, participants gathered for lunch and the opportunity to compete in a putting contest. The putting contest entry fee was $5 with half the purse going to the winner and half going to the Recreation and Wellness Foundation.

“They get three putts from ten feet,” explained Nate Boneta, a Graduate Assistant to the Department of Recreation and Wellness in Marketing and Advertising. “Whoever makes all three, or whoever makes the most, goes on to the final round. The final round is one 30-foot putt. Whoever makes that, or is closest, wins.”

Unfortunately for Sehmann, he did not win the putting contest. Brandon Hutton won by sinking a 30-foot putt in the final round.

“I went off the first putt and watched the line,” said Hutton of following the same break the participant putting before him experienced.

The 18-hole, two-person scramble began following the putting contest at 12:30 p.m. The winners in the men’s division were Steve Kampf and Kevin Atwood. The women’s division winners were Linda Hammer and Cathy Swick, and the mixed division winners were Woody Woodhouse and Deanna Vatan Woodhouse.

Other contests during outing included: men’s longest drive, won by Atwood; women’s longest drive, won by Hammer; women’s longest putt, won by Hyun Sun Lee; and closest to the line, won by Joe Herringshaw.

More information on winners, sponsors, and prize donors can be found at http://www.bgsu.edu/recwell.