The BG News Wins Big at Ohio Newspaper Convention

The BG News won three first prizes in the Ohio Newspaper Association’s Collegiate Competition, Division A, for sports coverage, headlines and photography. The awards were announced this week at the Ohio Newspaper Association’s annual convention in Columbus.

The winners for sports coverage were:

  • Danae King (former editor of The BG News, now health and business reporter at The Lima News);
  • Cameron Teague (former sports editor and now editor in chief of The BG News);
  • the sports staff.

The winners for headlines were:

  • Danae King;
  • Alex Alusheff (now business reporter at the Monroe News in Michigan);
  • Abby Welsh (now education and news reporter for the Daily Press and Argus in Livingston County, Michigan);
  • Dylanne Petros (now Vistas editor at the Roswell Daily Record in New Mexico.)

The winners for photojournalism were:

  • Ron Zeisloft;
  • Ruben Kappler;
  • Alyssa Benes.

Seven BGSU journalism students were reporting the convention for the Ohio Newspaper Association Wednesday and Thursday and will be producing their stories, videos and the ONA convention newsletter this weekend in West Hall. They are Cameron Teague, Kathryne Rubright, Will Channell and Jon Stinchcomb (all editors and reporters for The BG News) and Katie Wernke and Sarah Sanchez (reporters and producers for BG24 News).

Faculty members Kelly Taylor and Nancy Brendlinger accompanied the students.


This entry was posted in Media, Organizations, Student Achievements, Students. Bookmark the permalink.