Winners announced for inaugural BGSU Young Composers Competition

Three prize winners have been selected for the first annual BGSU Young Composers Competition, sponsored by the MidAmerican Center for Contemporary Music. They are:

First place: Alex Berko (Solon, OH) – Urgentem for string quartet
Second place: Jonah Haven (Ashland, OH) – A Room for piano solo
Third place: Hayden Brown (Galloway, OH) – Quartetto per archi for string quartet

These three composers receive a cash award and a performance of their work on the 2012 Bowling Green New Music Festival, October 17-20, featuring special guest composer John Luther Adams, author Barry Lopez, sound artist Marina Rosenfeld and more. For more information on the New Music Festival, visit the festival schedule site at