Category Archives: TCOM

2014 TCOM Career Day (April 4th, 2014)

TCOM Career Day April 4 Friday 9-5 p.m.

All sessions will take place in Bowen-Thompson Student Union (BTSU)

9:00-10:15              Interviewing, Demo Preparation and Job Search Tips Panels BTSU308
10:15-10:45            Coffee Break and Networking BTSU308
10:45-12:00            TCOM Alumni Panel from 5 focus areas BTSU308
12:00-1:00               Luncheon for Speakers and Employers BTSU228
1:00-3:00                 TCOM Employer Mixer (BTSU 306, 307, 308, 408 to be assigned)
3:00-5:00                 Individual Interviews (BTSU 306, 307, 308, 408,  West Hall rooms 018, 200
and 310 to be assigned)

Interviews, Demo Reel Preparation  and Job Search Tips Panel (9-10:15 a.m.) BTSU308

Faculty Moderator:  Dr. Gi Woong Yun

·         Debbie Alderman, Associate Producer, EWTN Cable TV Network
·         Jerry Brown, CEO, Madison Avenue Group, Toledo
·         Susie Isophording, Technical Recruiter, Dedicated Technologies Inc.
·         Kristin Pierce, MyTV 20, multimedia journalist, Detroit
·       Joshua Surgeon, President, SixCreative

TCOM Alumni Career Panel from Five Focus Areas (10:45-12) BTSU308

Faculty Moderator:  Dr. Ewart Skinner
·         Media Business:  Mark Seidel, Regional Sales Manager, North Eastern Ohio and Western Pennsylvania, Government and Education, Time Warner Cable
Media Culture: Marie Dunn-Harris, Writer/Social media specialist, BGSU
·         Interactive Media: Jim Filbert, Chief Operating Officer, BizNet
·         Radio: Chad McNeal, Production Director/DJ for Childers Media Group, a 5 station radio cluster in Lima, Ohio
·         Video/Television: Dave Dobson, Associate Producer, ESPN

Organizing Committee:
Dr. Louisa Ha, Chair, Department of Telecommunications and Faculty Advisor, TCOM Student Association
Jeffery L. Jackson, Assistant Vice President for Enrollment Management and Director, BGSU Career Center
Student Co-Chairs:  Melissa Belcher, Andy Wiltsie
Student Committee members: Tim Crnko, Evan Gragston, Cieara Little, Angelica Mormile, Brittany Shank, Ally Tharrett, Morgan Tucker

Emerging Media Research Cluster recent publications and conference paper awards


Emerging Media Research Cluster explores various media topics and is productive in producing conference papers and journal articles. Here are recent publications and awards received by our faculty and students in this research cluster.


Franklin Yartey and Dr. Louisa Ha coauthored paper, “Like, Share, Recommend: Smartphones as a Self-Broadcast and Self-Promotion Medium of College Students,” is in press in International Journal of Technology and Human Interaction (Special issue on Mobility and Human Interaction). 2014


Dr. Louisa Ha, Fang Wang, Ling Fang, Chen Yang, Xiao Hu, Liu Yang, Fan Yang, Ying Xu, and Dave Morin co-authored paper, “Political Efficacy and the Use of Local and National News Media among Undecided Voters in a Swing State: A Study of General Population Voters and First-time College Student Voters,” has been published by Electronic News. 2013


Drs. Louisa Ha and Gi Woong Yun co-authored paper “Digital Divide in Social Media Prosumption: Proclivity, Production Intensity, and Prosumer Typology among College Students and General Population” has been accepted for publication in Journal of Communication and Media Research. 2013


Xiao Hu, Ying Xu and Simeng Mo’s co-authored paper with Dr. Louisa Ha, “Who are the Fans of Facebook Pages? An electronic word-of-mouth communication perspective” received the Distinguished Paper Award for the Net2013 Conference (the International Conference on Internet Studies) and has been accepted for publication in International Journal of Cyber Society and Education. 2013


Ph.D. Students Yang Liu, Mohammad Abuljadail, and Fang Wang co-authored paper, “Who Pays for Online Media Contents: Generation Y or Older Generation?” was accepted to be presented at the 2014 Broadcast Education Association Annual Conference. This paper has also won the 1st Place Debut award by the Media Management, Programming and Marketing Division. 2014


Drs. Louisa Ha and Xiaoqun Zhang are 2013 American Copy Editors Society’s Research Competition Winners in the Newspaper and Online News Division of AEJMC (Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication).

Mr. Cardenas received Academy of Television Arts & Sciences Foundation Faculty Seminar fellowship

Mr. Cardenas received 25th Annual Academy of Television Arts & Sciences Foundation Faculty Seminar fellowship.

Administered by the Television Academy Foundation’s Education Programs department, the Faculty Seminar offers college professors opportunities to see how television entertainment works behind the scenes.