Category Archives: Alumni

Dr. Park and Dr. Magsamen-Conrad in President Mazey’s State of the Union address

The School of Media and Communication made an appearance in President Mazey’s State of the Union address Tuesday, with Telecommunications professor Dr. Park mentioned (around 21 minutes) for her excellent Media and Communication International Summer Institute and Communication professor Dr. Magsamen-Conrad mentioned (around 24 minutes) for winning the College of Arts and Sciences Diversity Award, and the SMC new South Hall building mentioned (around 28 minutes)!

Click here for the video

Franklin Yartey, 2012 graduate of SMC doctoral program, receives the Outstanding New Teacher Award for 2014 from the Iowa Communication Association

Franklin Yartey, Assistant Professor of Communication at the University of Dubuque, was selected by the Iowa Communication Association to receive the Outstanding New Teacher Award for 2014.  This award is presented to an exceptional speech communication teacher in the state of Iowa who has been teaching professionally for fewer than seven years.  The decision is based on teaching philosophy, teaching strategies, contributions to his/her institution and to the communication discipline, and recommendations by other faculty, administration, and students.

Yartey, originally from Ghana in West Africa, began teaching at the University of Dubuque in the fall of 2012.  Yartey teaches several courses which include Intercultural Communication, Language and Social Identity, Public Speaking, and Communication Careers. He has proposed a new course to advance the digital communication studies track within the major.  In addition, he advises undergraduate students in the department, is an advisor for Lambda Pi Eta, and serves as advisor for the Black Student Union and as a mentor for the University of Dubuque Wendt Center’s Character Scholars’ Program.  Yartey has authored numerous communication articles and book chapters and presented several conference presentations and professional lectures.  Yartey earned his Bachelor’s degree in Communication at Northwestern College in Iowa, his Master’s in Communication from Indiana State University, and his Doctorate in Communication from Bowling Green State University in Ohio.

Yartey will receive his award during the Awards Banquet of the Iowa Communication Association’s Annual Conference on Friday, September 19, 2014, at the Conference Center on the Ankeny campus of Des Moines Area Community College.

TCOM senior Jimmi Gangwer received paid internship from Academy of Television (Emmy) foundation internship program in Losa Angeles

TCOM senior Jimmi Gangwer, received the paid internship from the highly competitive Academy of Television (Emmy) foundation internship program. She will work at SJ2 Entertainment in Los Angeles starting late June/early July in post-production.

The Intergenerational Communication Intervention (ICI) Project Graduation

For six weeks, BGSU students have been showing more than 60 older adults how to use various kinds of technology. On April 16, 2014, these seniors “graduated” from the program at the Wood County Senior Center. The Intergenerational Communication Intervention (ICI) project was developed by Dr. Kate Magsamen-Conrad, an assistant professor of communication, in partnership with the Wood County Committee on Aging.

2014 TCOM Career Day (April 4th, 2014)

TCOM Career Day April 4 Friday 9-5 p.m.

All sessions will take place in Bowen-Thompson Student Union (BTSU)

9:00-10:15              Interviewing, Demo Preparation and Job Search Tips Panels BTSU308
10:15-10:45            Coffee Break and Networking BTSU308
10:45-12:00            TCOM Alumni Panel from 5 focus areas BTSU308
12:00-1:00               Luncheon for Speakers and Employers BTSU228
1:00-3:00                 TCOM Employer Mixer (BTSU 306, 307, 308, 408 to be assigned)
3:00-5:00                 Individual Interviews (BTSU 306, 307, 308, 408,  West Hall rooms 018, 200
and 310 to be assigned)

Interviews, Demo Reel Preparation  and Job Search Tips Panel (9-10:15 a.m.) BTSU308

Faculty Moderator:  Dr. Gi Woong Yun

·         Debbie Alderman, Associate Producer, EWTN Cable TV Network
·         Jerry Brown, CEO, Madison Avenue Group, Toledo
·         Susie Isophording, Technical Recruiter, Dedicated Technologies Inc.
·         Kristin Pierce, MyTV 20, multimedia journalist, Detroit
·       Joshua Surgeon, President, SixCreative

TCOM Alumni Career Panel from Five Focus Areas (10:45-12) BTSU308

Faculty Moderator:  Dr. Ewart Skinner
·         Media Business:  Mark Seidel, Regional Sales Manager, North Eastern Ohio and Western Pennsylvania, Government and Education, Time Warner Cable
Media Culture: Marie Dunn-Harris, Writer/Social media specialist, BGSU
·         Interactive Media: Jim Filbert, Chief Operating Officer, BizNet
·         Radio: Chad McNeal, Production Director/DJ for Childers Media Group, a 5 station radio cluster in Lima, Ohio
·         Video/Television: Dave Dobson, Associate Producer, ESPN

Organizing Committee:
Dr. Louisa Ha, Chair, Department of Telecommunications and Faculty Advisor, TCOM Student Association
Jeffery L. Jackson, Assistant Vice President for Enrollment Management and Director, BGSU Career Center
Student Co-Chairs:  Melissa Belcher, Andy Wiltsie
Student Committee members: Tim Crnko, Evan Gragston, Cieara Little, Angelica Mormile, Brittany Shank, Ally Tharrett, Morgan Tucker