Category Archives: Faculty

2013 AEJMC in D.C.: Welcomes, Division Winners, Award Winner, Expo, & Reception

School of Media and Communication: A Tradition of Excellence for more than 35 years
Welcomes New Director Dr. Laura Stafford

Newspaper and Online News Division, 2013 American Copy Editors Society’s Research Competition Winners: Drs. Louisa Ha and Xiaoqun Zhang
Top-three finalist in the 2013 AEJMC Tankard Book Award: Dr. Tom Mascaro

Grad Student Info Expo: Meet representatives from 18 universities offering doctorate and master’s programs in journalism and communication to get your questions answered about the right graduate program for you. See more info here

Please join us at our reception in the Renaissance Hotel, Saturday, August 10, at 9 p.m.

Dr. Melkote selected as Fulbright specialist

Dr. Srinivas Melkote, Professor in Department of Telecommunications, School of Media & Communication, has been selected as a Fulbright specialist. He will be on the panel of experts and program requests from international institutions will be matched with his expertise in media and communication. Dr. Melkote is being considered to serve as the consultant to the University of Pondicherry in India to design its new doctoral program in media and communication.

Drs. Zhang, Ha and Park’s paper on mobile media won top paper in Communication Technology Division at the Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication Conference

TCOM faculty Drs. Xiaoqun Zhang, Louisa Ha, and Sung-Yeon Park’s paper, “Diffusion of news services and political news in mobile media: A time budget perspective,” won the 4th place faculty paper in the Communication Technology Division at the annual conference of the Association for Education in Journalism & Mass Communication, Chicago, IL, August 2012.

Dr. Park and colleagues won top paper in Minorities & Communication Divisions in AEJMC Annual Conference 2012

TCOM faculty Drs. Park and Yun and graduate students won this year top paper in the Minorities & Communication Division of AEJMC 

Park, S., Flynn, M. A., Stana, A., Morin, D. T., & G. Yun (2012, August). Where do I belong, from Laguna Beach to Jersey Shore?: A content analysis of minority characters on popular MTV reality shows. Top paper scheduled to be presented at the annual conference of the Association for Education in Journalism & Mass Communication (AEJMC) Chicago, IL.

12 students honored in 2nd TCOM Student Media Production Contest Award Ceremony

 12 students were presented with awards in the 2nd Annual TCOM student media production award ceremony organized by the BGSU TCOM Student Association: Ashley Mullins, Jason Baker and crew members Meredith Goodrich, Brittany Moran, Daniel Smith, Brad Woczniki, Josh Clay and Jun Yang.  The categories include video, radio and web.  Ryan Fowler, a BGSU and WBGU-TV alum, who is the Fantasy Football/Baseball Editor at and Content Manager at based out of Cincinnati,  came as a special guest and address students.  He reminded students of the importance of work ethics and networking in developing their career.  TCOM faculty presented the awards to the students.

See the  power point file on the winners and links to their works: TCOM student prorduction contest Awards2012 PPT.3.30

Dr. Park and Ph.D. alumnus Kyle Holody and doctoral student Xiaoqun Zhang’s article on Virginia Tech Shooting accepted by Journalism and Mass Communication Quarterly

Dr. Sung-Yeon Park,  Ph.D. alumnus Kyle Holody and doctoral student Xiaoqun Zhang’s article studying the Virgina Tech shooting news coverage, “Race in Media Coverage of School Shootings: A Parallel Application of Framing Theory and Attribute Agenda-Setting,” has been accepted by Journalism & Mass Communication Quarterly and will be published later in the year.

BGSU Chapter of the Association for Women in Communication (AWC) Featured on the National AWC Home Page

Association for Women in Communication (AWC) welcomes the newly formed student chapter at Bowling Green State University by featuring a story about the mission and goals of the chapter on their home page.

Special congratulations to Dr. Cheongmi Shim, AWC advisor and an instructor in the Department of Communication, and Courtney Seel, a senior and chapter president, for doing a wonderful job leading this organization!