All posts by louisah

Dr. Melkote selected as Fulbright specialist

Dr. Srinivas Melkote, Professor in Department of Telecommunications, School of Media & Communication, has been selected as a Fulbright specialist. He will be on the panel of experts and program requests from international institutions will be matched with his expertise in media and communication. Dr. Melkote is being considered to serve as the consultant to the University of Pondicherry in India to design its new doctoral program in media and communication.

Two guest lectures in TCOM from WQRN and alumni Joe Philport and Ryan Zangrilli

1.  Dan McClintok of WQRN who will speak to the TCOM4610 Audience Research THIS WEDNESDAY, September 26, 2012 at the TCOM 4610 Audience Research class, in room 226 Olscamp Hall from 6pm-9pm.

Mr. McClintok will talk about current radio research, how it is gathered and applied on a local basis.

A question and answer session will immediately follow his talk.

2.  TCOM alum Ryan Zangrilli (National Sales Director,blip.TV) and University Distinguished Alum Joe Philport (President and CEO of Traffic Audit Bureau, NY)will speak to the TCOM1030 class on Friday 9/28 from 9:30-10:20 at West Hall 121.

TCOM Senior Debbie Alderman won 2012 Ohio Association of Broadcasters Scholarship

TCOM senior Debbie Alderman, from Lima, OH, won the $3,000  Ohio Association of Broadcasterse Scholarship in 2012.  She is the only non-minority student winning this scholarship this year in the state.  Debbie also got a summer internship in New York working on social media for MTV.  She is going to be the President/Executive Producer of BG on TV when she comes back in fall.



Drs. Zhang, Ha and Park’s paper on mobile media won top paper in Communication Technology Division at the Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication Conference

TCOM faculty Drs. Xiaoqun Zhang, Louisa Ha, and Sung-Yeon Park’s paper, “Diffusion of news services and political news in mobile media: A time budget perspective,” won the 4th place faculty paper in the Communication Technology Division at the annual conference of the Association for Education in Journalism & Mass Communication, Chicago, IL, August 2012.

Dr. Park and colleagues won top paper in Minorities & Communication Divisions in AEJMC Annual Conference 2012

TCOM faculty Drs. Park and Yun and graduate students won this year top paper in the Minorities & Communication Division of AEJMC 

Park, S., Flynn, M. A., Stana, A., Morin, D. T., & G. Yun (2012, August). Where do I belong, from Laguna Beach to Jersey Shore?: A content analysis of minority characters on popular MTV reality shows. Top paper scheduled to be presented at the annual conference of the Association for Education in Journalism & Mass Communication (AEJMC) Chicago, IL.

12 students honored in 2nd TCOM Student Media Production Contest Award Ceremony

 12 students were presented with awards in the 2nd Annual TCOM student media production award ceremony organized by the BGSU TCOM Student Association: Ashley Mullins, Jason Baker and crew members Meredith Goodrich, Brittany Moran, Daniel Smith, Brad Woczniki, Josh Clay and Jun Yang.  The categories include video, radio and web.  Ryan Fowler, a BGSU and WBGU-TV alum, who is the Fantasy Football/Baseball Editor at and Content Manager at based out of Cincinnati,  came as a special guest and address students.  He reminded students of the importance of work ethics and networking in developing their career.  TCOM faculty presented the awards to the students.

See the  power point file on the winners and links to their works: TCOM student prorduction contest Awards2012 PPT.3.30

Dr. Park and Ph.D. alumnus Kyle Holody and doctoral student Xiaoqun Zhang’s article on Virginia Tech Shooting accepted by Journalism and Mass Communication Quarterly

Dr. Sung-Yeon Park,  Ph.D. alumnus Kyle Holody and doctoral student Xiaoqun Zhang’s article studying the Virgina Tech shooting news coverage, “Race in Media Coverage of School Shootings: A Parallel Application of Framing Theory and Attribute Agenda-Setting,” has been accepted by Journalism & Mass Communication Quarterly and will be published later in the year.