Huron, Ohio – The 44 Annual Recognition Program at Bowling Green State University Firelands College was held on Friday, April 19 at 6 p.m. in the Cedar Point Center.  The following staff and students received awards:


Nicholas Burgdorf Amherst Society of the Flame
Nicole Ammanniti Bellevue Theatre Meritorious Award
Salli Feick Bellevue Theatre Meritorious Award
Amanda L. Nixon Bellevue Creative Excellence Visual Media
Chris Pejoro Bellevue Theatre Meritorious Award
Kenneth Lyle Simpson Cardington Society of the Flame
Bryanna Bauman Huron Outstanding Technical Award
Michael Holt Huron Outstanding Theatre Participant
Michael Holt Huron Society of the Flame
Rachel McLaughlin Huron Outstanding Acting Award
Talon Smith Huron Society of the Flame
Travis Skelly Lorain Building Blocks to the Future
Cody Noon Milan Outstanding Theatre Participant
Kenneth Schmuhl Norwalk Criminal Justice Award
Kenneth Schmuhl Norwalk Society of the Flame
Mackenzie Kightlinger Oak Harbor Theatre Meritorious Award
Caley Anne Laurents Port Clinton Creative Excellence Visual
Communications Technology
Cory Castelan Republic Theatre Meritorious Award
Kaitlyn Dissinger Sandusky Theatre Meritorious Award
Victoria Larrick Sandusky Theatre Meritorious Award
Paul Maier Sandusky Theatre Meritorious Award
Jarod Mariani Sandusky Theatre Meritorious Award
Kim Millinger Sandusky Theatre Meritorious Award
Josh Ohlmacher Sandusky Theatre Meritorious Award
Jarrod Shoenberger Sandusky Building Blocks to the Future
Felicia Turner Sandusky Windows to the Future
Brennan Wozniak Sandusky Theatre Meritorious Award
Branden Fox Wakeman Outstanding Theatre Participant

Description of Select Student Awards

Dean’s University Scholarship Award:

Ryan L. Cook Norwalk

The Dean’s University Scholarship award, established in 1998, was made possible through a generous contribution from the Frost-Parker Foundation and a matching gift from the BGSU Alumni Association.  This $3,000 scholarship can be awarded annually to an outstanding BGSU Firelands junior who will transition to the BG campus in the fall.


BGSU Firelands Society of the Flame Award:

The Society of the Flame is an honorary society in which students are inducted on the basis of academic achievement, participation in a variety of campus programs, organizations, and general display of leadership on the campus based on the following criteria:

  1. Academic Excellence (3.25 GPA or above)
  2. Completed a minimum of 40 semester hours including current semester
  3. Active participation in a variety of campus programs
  4. Consistent display of leadership


BGSU Firelands Building Blocks to the Future Awards:

Each year BGSU Firelands recognizes those students who, during a one-year period, have provided outstanding service to the college.  A candidate cannot receive this award and the Window to the Future Award.

  1. Candidates must be registered BGSU Firelands students for a minimum of 20 credit hours per year (fall and spring).
  2. Candidates must have established a 2.00 GPA.
  3. The academic year of eligibility shall consist of in chronological order:  the summer, fall and spring semesters of the academic year for which the award is to be given.
  4. Candidates must have demonstrated contributions in multiple experiences during the academic year.  The purpose is to recognize persons who have contributed in a variety of ways rather than through a singular experience or student organization.


BGSU Firelands Window to the Future Awards:

Each year BGSU Firelands recognizes those students who have provided outstanding continuous service (more than one year) to the college based on the following criteria:

  1. Must be BGSU Firelands students who have completed a minimum of 40 hours.
  2. Must have at least 2.00 GPA
  3. Must have demonstrated contributions in multiple experiences during their tenure at BGSU Firelands, rather than a singular experience or student organization.
  4. A first year student is not eligible for this award.


2012-2013 Student Government Appreciation Awards:

Katia Castile President Norwalk
Kenneth Schmuhl Vice-President Norwalk
Felicia Turner Secretary Sandusky
Phillip Leone Treasurer Sandusky



Links to Progress Award

Caryl Crane Youth Theatre  

This award is presented to the person or organization of the campus community that has been a significant link in the chain of growth of BGSU Firelands.  This person or organization must have been instrumental in linking the college to the broader human community.


Creative Scholar Award

Victor U. Odafe Amherst


This award may be given annually to any full-time BGSU Firelands faculty member (in his/her third year or beyond) for outstanding scholarly or creative accomplishments during the previous three years.


Community Service Award

Darlene Crooks, President, Label Aid Sandusky

The community service award is given to an individual or organization from the community who has, in an extraordinary manner, participated in the growth, development or promotion of BGSU Firelands and the Firelands community. (See separate release for additional details)


Dean’s Special Recognition Award

Sylvia Hermo-Fedro Avon Lake

This special recognition award may be given annually to individual faculty members, administrators, classified staff, or members of collaborative teams who have made exceptionally meritorious contributions in support of the mission of BGSU Firelands.  Awards may be used to recognize career achievements as well as recent accomplishments.  (See separate release for additional details)


Distinguished Part-Time Teacher Award:

Brigitte Green-Churchwell Sandusky

This award is bestowed annually to a part-time faculty member or administrative staff member who teaches at BGSU Firelands and demonstrates commitment to and excellence in the art of teaching. (See separate release for additional details)


Distinguished Teacher Award

Rachelle Kristof Hippler Castalia

This award is bestowed annually to a full-time faculty member who demonstrates commitment to and exemplifies excellence in the art of teaching.  Persons may be nominated by any member of the BGSU Firelands community or by college alumni.  (See separate release for additional details)


Service Recognition for Faculty and Staff:

5 Years of Service:

Mohammed Darabie Bowling Green
Brooke McGraw Huron
Joan Tussing Marblehead


10 Years of Service:

Michelle Brodke Sandusky
Jolene Buehrer Milan
Mark Charville Milan
Robin Garland Huron
Anne Leser Tiffin


15 Years of Service:

Erin Campbell Norwalk
Christine Genovese Norwalk


20 Years of Service:

Victor Odafe Amherst


25 Years of Service:

Katherine Emond Marblehead
Julie Freitas Sandusky
Loretta Peugeot Sandusky


40 Years of Service:

M. Peter Henning Sandusky


For additional information or photos, contact Dean Schnurr, director of marketing and community relations, at 419.372.0613 or via e-mail at

– 30 –

  • Press Release Calendar

    April 2013
    S M T W T F S